Church of our Lady Dresden 2018

An evening of great emotions

On the occasion of the European Cultural Heritage Year 2018, the European Cultural Awards TAURUS were awarded for the first time in cooperation between the Stiftung Frauenkirche and the European Cultural Forum e.V.

Head of government honored for environmental protection

Prince Albert II of Monaco and the German Marine Foundation received the TAURUS for their commitment to environmental protection. “With this award, the European Cultural Forum honored the exemplary commitment of the two foundations to nature and marine conservation. The head of government and Frank Schweikert from the German Sea Foundation have been involved in saving the world’s waters for many years. It’s five to twelve, because the largest habitat on our planet seems to be in danger. Overfishing, climate change, plastic waste: the oceans are threatened by many factors. They have made it their task to sensitize people to this and to intensify the need for efficient marine and water protection, which is supported by a large majority, and they carried this message to Dresden.

 

Two awards for extraordinary lifetime achievements

The life’s work of the singer Nana Mouskouri was honored on this evening, as was that of the painter Gerhard Richter. Gerhard Richter is an artist between East and West, a truly European artist”, said Marion Ackermann in her laudation in the sold-out Frauenkirche. Gerhard Richter’s decision to leave his archive permanently in Dresden, she said, further underscored Dresden’s reputation as a city of culture and showed his close ties to his home city. “For me, this award is a great and quite unexpected honor, for which I am very grateful,” the world-famous artist told the audience.

 

Further awards for prominent artists

In addition, tenor Piotr Beczala, actor Daniel Brühl, the Dresden Music Festival with its artistic director Jan Vogler, who played a Shostakovich waltz for the guests together with the young awardees, the European Union Youth Orchestra. Peter Maffay, who played one of his most famous songs: “Eiszeit” (Ice Age), provided the goose bumps of the evening, which was presented by Götz Alsmann. The musician was honored for his social commitment.

 

Next Generation Innovation Award goes to Dresden company

The Dresden-based company CLOUD&HEAT Technologies GmbH received the first ever Next Generation Award and prevailed over several other applicants. A top-class jury had evaluated the inventiveness and innovative business ideas of more than a dozen companies. The award is sponsored by Volkswagen Public Limited Company, Porsche Leipzig Private Limited Company and the Office for Economic Development of the State Capital Dresden.

 

Idea of a peaceful and reconciled Europe

“With the award ceremony in Dresden’s Frauenkirche, we have focused on what is important in today’s world and what we need people and institutions to set an example for: To further consolidate the idea of Europe that unites nations and to continue the tradition of cultural heritage and to ensure that it is a part of modern times,” said Bernhard Reeder, Chairman of the European Cultural Forum Association. “Michael Kretschmer, Prime Minister of the Free State of Saxony, and the Lord Mayor of Dresden, Dirk Hilbert, were among those present at the Frauenkirche.

 

A special day for Dresden

Before the award ceremony, Prince Albert II of Monaco had visited the research vessel of the German Marine Foundation “Aldebaran”, which was anchored in Dresden. On Neumarkt, hundreds of Dresden residents and guests were present at the “Dresden sings and makes music” participation program, which has been organized by the Dresden Music Festival for 40 years.

Already the first highlight of the evening – punctually at 8.15 pm with the start of the live broadcast on MDR – the spectators and listeners on Neumarkt experienced a unique symbiosis: two orchestras were brought together, in and in front of the Frauenkirche. In front of the church, the Dresden Elbland Philharmonic Orchestra of Saxony under the direction of Jörn Hinnerk Andresen played, inside, the Youth Orchestra of the European Union under the direction of Vasily Petrenko. George Frideric Handel’s “Hallelujah” sounded, and later everyone could listen to the Kreuzchor and choirs of the Dresden Music Festival.

 

The European Cultural AwardTAURUS 2018

This year the European Cultural Awards were awarded for the first time in cooperation between the Stiftung Frauenkirche and the European Cultural Forum e.V. The 2018 awardees and the Dresden Frauenkirche stand equally for peace, freedom, cultural diversity and the preservation of the European cultural heritage.

Frauenkirche Dresden 2018

Ein Abend der ganz großen Emotionen

 

Anlässlich des Europäischen Kulturerbejahres 2018 wurden erstmalig in Kooperation zwischen der Stiftung Frauenkirche und dem Europäischen Kulturforum e.V. die Europäischen Kulturpreise TAURUS vergeben.

Regierungsoberhaupt wird für Umweltschutz geehrt

Fürst Albert II. von Monaco und die Deutsche Meeresstiftung erhielten den TAURUS für ihr Engagement im Umweltschutz. „Mit diesem Preis würdigte das Europäische Kulturforum das beispielhafte Engagement der beiden Stiftungen für den Natur- und Meeresschutz. Das Regierungsoberhaupt und Frank Schweikert von der Deutschen Meeresstiftung engagieren sich seit vielen Jahren weltweit für die Rettung der Gewässer. Es ist fünf vor zwölf, denn der größte Lebensraum unseres Planten scheint in Gefahr. Überfischung, Klimawandel, Plastikmüll: Den Ozeanen droht Gefahr durch viele Faktoren. Die Menschen dafür zu sensibilisieren und dazu die Notwendigkeit eines effizienten und vor allem von einer großen Mehrheit unterstützten Meeres- und Gewässerschutz zu intensivieren, haben sie sich zu ihrer Aufgabe gemacht und trugen diese Botschaft auch nach Dresden.

Zwei Preise für außergewöhnliche Lebenswerke

Das Lebenswerk der Sängerin Nana Mouskouri wurde an diesem Abend ebenso wie das von Maler Gerhard Richter gewürdigt. Gerhard Richter ist ein Künstler zwischen Ost und West, ein wahrhaft europäischer Künstler“, so Marion Ackermann in ihrer Laudatio in der ausverkauften Frauenkirche. Die Entscheidung Gerhard Richters, sein Archiv auf Dauer in Dresden zu belassen, habe den Ruf Dresdens als Kulturstadt weiter untermauert und zeige seine enge Verbundenheit zu seiner Heimatstadt. „Dieser Preis ist für mich eine große und ganz unerwartete Ehrung, für die ich mich herzlich bedanke“, ließ der weltberühmte Künstler das Publikum wissen.

Weitere Preise für prominente Künstler

Außerdem geehrt wurden Tenor Piotr Beczala, Schauspieler Daniel Brühl, die Dresdner Musikfestspiele mit ihrem Intendanten Jan Vogler, der gemeinsam mit dem Nachwuchspreisträger, dem Jugendorchester der Europäischen Union, für die Gäste einen Schostakowitsch-Walzer spielte. Für den Gänsehautmoment des von Götz Alsmann moderierten Abend sorgte Peter Maffay, der einen seiner bekanntesten Songs spielte: „Eiszeit“. Geehrt wurde der Musiker für sein soziales Engagement.

Innovationspreis Next Generation geht an Dresdner Unternehmen

Das Dresdner Unternehmen CLOUD&HEAT Technologies GmbH bekam den erstmals vergebenen Förderpreis Next Generation und setzte sich gegen mehrere Bewerber durch. Eine hochkarätig besetzte Jury hatte Ideenreichtum und innovative Geschäftsideen von mehr als einem Dutzend Firmen bewertet. Stifter des Preises sind die Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft, die Porsche Leipzig GmbH und das Amt für Wirtschaftsförderung der Landeshauptstadt Dresden.

Idee eines friedlichen und versöhnten Europas

„Mit der Preisverleihung in der Dresdner Frauenkirche haben wir den Fokus darauf gelenkt, was in der heutigen Zeit wichtig ist und wofür man Menschen und Institutionen braucht, die ein Vorbild darstellen: Die Nationen verbindende Idee Europas weiter festigen und die Tradition des Kulturerbes weiter leben und dafür sorgen, dass es in der Neuzeit ankommt“, so Bernhard Reeder, Vorstand des Vereins Europäisches Kulturforum. „Wir sind sehr dankbar, dass unsere Idee eine so große Unterstützung findet.“In der Frauenkirche waren unter anderem Michael Kretschmer, Ministerpräsident des Freistaates Sachsen, sowie der Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Dresden, Dirk Hilbert, anwesend.

Ein besonderer Tag für Dresden

Vor der Preisverleihung hatte Fürst Albert II. von Monaco das Forschungsschiff der Deutschen Meeresstiftung „Aldebaran“ besucht, das in Dresden vor Anker lag. Auf dem Neumarkt waren hunderte Dresdner und Gäste beim Mitmachprogramm „Dresden singt und musiziert“ dabei, das seit 40 Jahren von den Dresdner Musikfestspielen veranstaltet wird. Bereits der erste Höhepunkt des Abends – pünktlich 20.15 Uhr mit Beginn der Live-Übertragung im MDR – erlebten die Zuschauer und Zuhörer auf dem Neumarkt eine einzigartige Symbiose: Zwei Orchester wurden zusammengeführt, in und vor der Frauenkirche. Vor dem Gotteshaus spielte die Dresdner Elbland Philharmonie Sachsen unter der Leitung von Jörn Hinnerk Andresen, drinnen das Jugendorchester der Europäischen Union unter der Leitung von Vasily Petrenko. Georg Friedrich Händels „Halleluja“ erklang, später konnten alle dem Kreuzchor und Chören der Dresdner Musikfestspiele lauschen.

Der Europäischee Kulturpreis TAURUS 2018

In diesem Jahr wurden die Europäischen Kulturpreise erstmalig in Kooperation zwischen der Stiftung Frauenkirche und dem Europäischen Kulturforum e.V. vergeben. Die Preisträger 2018 und die Dresdner Frauenkirche stehen gleichermaßen für Frieden, Freiheit, kulturelle Vielfalt und für den Erhalt des Europäischen Kulturerbes.